Oto Acoustic Emissions

Last week I had my otoacoustic emissions tested by Path Medical and Hearing Coach.

Otoacoustic emissions (OAEs) are sounds of cochlear origin, which can be recorded by a microphone fitted into the ear canal. They are caused by the motion of the cochlea’s sensory hair cells as they energetically respond to auditory stimulation.

OAE tests determine cochlear status, specifically hair cell function. This information can be used to screen hearing, partially estimate hearing sensitivity within a limited range, differentiate between the sensory and neural components of sensorineural hearing loss, and test for functional hearing loss.

Apparently I have the ears (or the OAEs) of a newborn baby 🙂 I’m not entirely sure why, as I’ve definitely been exposed to plenty of loud gigs/building sites/London Underground trains, but I’ll take it.

I’ve added an example report if anyone is interested in getting tested.

Leave a comment